Where’s the Fun In This?

My beloved Red Sox have pummelled the New York Corpses Yankees for two straight nights (and are currently going for the sweep as we speak).  In a normal society, I’d be crowing from the rooftops.  I’d be anxious to come into work for the sole purpose of rubbing it into the faces of my Yankee-Loving co-workers (who totally outnumber the Sox fans in my office).  But not this time.

Despite the euphoria that was October 27, 2004, I still have some raw memories of 2003 where Aaron Effin Boone launched a walk-off homerun off my boy Tim Wakefield to successfully eliminate the Red Sox from the playoffs in the 2003 ALCS.  Coming into work the next day was beyond brutal.  Brutal I tell you!  The Yankee fans were everywhere and relentless.  Worst.day.ever.

Therefore it was always a pleasure to have reason to come into work to crow about victories, except for now.  I hate to agree with Dan Shaughnessy because I generally think of him as a pompous blowhard, but he nailed it here.  The Yankee fans have completely deflated and there is no fun in crowing anymore.

Here are some of the various responses I received upon entering the workplace this morning:

“The Yankees played the Red Sox?  Didn’t know that.”

“Is it football season yet?”

“I sold the rest of my season tickets except for my last game.  I guess I should go to one more game before they close the old stadium.”

“I’m rooting for the Dodgers.”

They have sucked all of the fun out of this rivalry!  The bully in the baseball playground is gone and there is no one to have a fight with anymore.  I want to shake someone and say “C’mon fight!!  Don’t quit yet!”.  Does this mean that I have to go find a Tampa Bay fan to pick a fight with?  Sheesh.

Wait!  I did find one spunky fan in the bunch.  He says that while the Yankees are probably out of playoff contention, they can still be spoilers for the Red Sox at the end of September, “We’re gonna knock you out of the playoffs!”.  That’s the spirit!

So I say this to Yankee fans: Don’t roll over and play dead!  Embrace your newfound status as potential playoff spoilers!  That can be fun too.  Obviously, I am desperate for some good ole fashioned trash talking.  Anyone?  Anyone?

(crickets)

Leave a Reply

